Brita and PUR sell the same two kinds of pitcher filter, a basic one and a lead-reducing one, and the differences their own pages state come down to life, figures and candor. Both basic filters are rated for 40 gallons and claim chlorine; Brita’s names its media, and PUR’s names a certifier. In the lead-reducing tier, Brita’s Elite lasts 120 gallons where PUR’s PLUS lasts 40, and the Elite’s data sheet ties its lead claim to specific pitcher models. Brita links a performance data sheet for every filter, with a reduction percentage per contaminant. PUR names the body that certified each filter and publishes no figure. PUR’s page is the one that says plainly what a pitcher filter does not do: “like other leading brands, PUR does not filter microbes.” Nothing here comes from testing. It is what the two companies publish, lined up.
Which basic filter states more?
| Attribute | Brita Original Pitcher and Dispenser Replacement Filter (OB03) | PUR Pitcher Filter (PPF900Z) |
|---|---|---|
| Brand | Brita | PUR |
| Parent company | Not stated on the brand's page | Not stated on the brand's page |
| Format | pitcher filter | pitcher filter |
| Size | 40 gal (40 gallons) | 40 gal (40 gallons) |
| Ingredients disclosed | Not published | Not published |
| Fragrance | Not published | Not published |
| Certifications claimed | WQA | NSF |
| Material | "Coconut-based activated carbon plus ion exchange resin in a housing made without BPA," per manufacturer | "2-in-1 genuine PUR filtration technology," per manufacturer, which does not name the media on this page |
| Filter life | "Filters up to 40 gallons"; "replace your Brita Original Filter every 40 gallons, or about every 2 months for most households," per manufacturer, which adds "if you have hard water, you may need to change filters more often" | "One filter provides up to 40 gallons, or 2 months, of clean water. For best performance, change your filter every 2 months," per manufacturer |
| Contaminants reduced | "Contaminants reduced include chlorine (taste and odor), copper, cadmium and mercury," per manufacturer; the performance data sheet also reports zinc, and notes that "substances reduced may not be in all users' water"; the performance data sheet linked under certifications reports a 95% chlorine reduction at a 2 ± 0.2 ppm test concentration, against the 50% the standard requires | "Certified to reduce 15 contaminants including certain pesticides, pharmaceuticals, heavy metals, chlorine (taste & odor) and more," per manufacturer, which also states it is "certified by NSF to reduce chlorine, mercury, copper, zinc and other chemical & physical substances that can cause bad taste and odor" |
| Fits | Brita pitchers and dispensers; the performance data sheet lists system models OB01, OB11, OB21, OB24, OB32, OB36, OB41, OB43, OB44, OB46, OB47, OB48, OB50, OB51, OB53, OB54, OB58, OB60, OB61 and OB62 for replacement filter model OB03 | "PUR and Beautiful by PUR systems," per manufacturer; sold in 1-pack, 3-pack and 4-pack sizes |
| Source | Sourcebrita.comChecked Oct 8, 2026 | Sourcepur.comChecked Oct 8, 2026 |
The two basic filters match on the things a reader can count. Both are rated for 40 gallons, both say about two months, and both claim chlorine taste and odor. Where they part is in what each page says about what is inside and how well it works.
Brita’s Original page names its media, “coconut-based activated carbon plus ion exchange resin,” and lists what it reduces: “chlorine (taste and odor), copper, cadmium and mercury.” Its performance data sheet, linked from the page, gives a figure for each, including a 95 percent chlorine reduction at the standard’s test concentration, and states who certified it, WQA against NSF/ANSI Standards 42 and 53.
PUR’s basic page describes the media only as “2-in-1 genuine PUR filtration technology” and says the filter is “certified to reduce 15 contaminants including certain pesticides, pharmaceuticals, heavy metals, chlorine (taste & odor) and more,” and “certified by NSF to reduce chlorine, mercury, copper, zinc and other chemical & physical substances.” Fifteen is a larger count than Brita’s four, and it comes with no list and no figure. A reader who wants to know which fifteen has to look past the page.
Which lead-reducing filter fits which household?
| Attribute | Brita Elite Pitcher and Dispenser Replacement Filter (OB06) | PUR PLUS Lead Reducing Pitcher Filter (PPF951K) |
|---|---|---|
| Brand | Brita | PUR |
| Parent company | Not stated on the brand's page | Not stated on the brand's page |
| Format | pitcher filter | pitcher filter |
| Size | 120 gal (120 gallons) | 40 gal (40 gallons) |
| Ingredients disclosed | Not published | Not published |
| Fragrance | Not published | Not published |
| Certifications claimed | WQA, IAPMO R&T, NSF | IAPMO R&T |
| Material | "A patented pleated filter and proprietary active filtering agents in a housing made without BPA," per manufacturer | "Granulated activated carbon and ion exchange materials," per manufacturer, which calls the construction "3-in-1 genuine PUR filtration technology" |
| Filter life | "Replace your Brita Elite Filter every 120 gallons, or about every 6 months for most households," per manufacturer, which adds "if you have hard water, you may need to change filters more often" | "One filter provides up to 40 gallons, or 2 months, of clean water. For best performance, change your filter every 2 months," per manufacturer |
| Contaminants reduced | "Contaminants reduced include 99% of lead, chlorine (taste and odor), cadmium, mercury, class I particulates, asbestos, and benzene," per manufacturer, which says to "see performance data sheet at brita.com for specific contaminant reduction claims" and that "substances reduced may not be in all users' water"; the performance data sheet linked under certifications reports a 97.4% chlorine reduction at a 2.0 ± 0.2 ppm test concentration, against the 50% the standard requires | "IAPMO R&T certified to reduce lead, microplastics, chlorine, mercury, copper, zinc and other chemical & physical substances that can cause bad taste and odor in your drinking water," per manufacturer, which adds "like other leading brands, PUR does not filter microbes" |
| Fits | Brita pitchers and dispensers; the performance data sheet names pitcher models OB11, OB21, OB24, OB41, OB47, OB53, OB60, OB62 and OB63 for the lead reduction certification | "PUR and Beautiful by PUR systems," per manufacturer; sold in 1-pack and 3-pack sizes |
| Source | Sourcebrita.comChecked Oct 8, 2026 | Sourcepur.comChecked Oct 8, 2026 |
Both pages claim lead, and the first difference is how long the claim lasts. Brita’s Elite is rated for 120 gallons, “about every 6 months for most households.” PUR’s PLUS is rated for 40 gallons, “or 2 months,” the same as the basic filters. A household that changes filters on the calendar buys three PUR PLUS filters in the time it buys one Elite.
The second difference is what each page says the filter is. Brita’s Elite describes “a patented pleated filter and proprietary active filtering agents,” names three certifiers, WQA, IAPMO R&T and NSF, and ties its lead claim to a list of pitcher models on its data sheet, which also reports a 97.4 percent chlorine reduction. PUR’s PLUS names its media, “granulated activated carbon and ion exchange materials,” and names one certifier for the whole list: “IAPMO R&T certified to reduce lead, microplastics, chlorine, mercury, copper, zinc and other chemical & physical substances.” Microplastics appear on PUR’s page and not on Brita’s. A figure for any of it appears on Brita’s and not on PUR’s.
What each page says that the other doesn’t
Brita’s pages say the same two things about every filter: that hard water may shorten its life, and that “substances reduced may not be in all users’ water.” PUR’s PLUS page says one thing Brita’s never does, which is what the filter leaves alone: “Like other leading brands, PUR does not filter microbes.” What a Water Filter Does and Doesn’t Remove covers why that sentence matters, and Best Water Filter for Chlorine Taste and Odor ranks these four and Brita’s faucet system on the one claim all of them share.
Neither brand’s pitcher filter page states a pack count. Brita’s pages list the pitcher models each filter fits; PUR’s say “PUR and Beautiful by PUR systems.” Neither page says anything about the other brand’s pitcher, and this comparison makes no claim about cross-fit either way.
Which one, then?
If a published figure matters to you, Brita’s pages are the ones that carry one, for every filter, with the certifier named beside it. If the longest interval between filter changes matters, Brita’s Elite is the one page that states 120 gallons. If a lead claim at the basic 40-gallon interval is what you want, PUR’s PLUS states it and names its certifier. If you want the page to tell you what the filter won’t do, PUR’s is the one that does. Brita’s faucet system is the fifth filter in Runlow’s records and has no PUR counterpart there yet, so it sits out of this comparison.
How we researched this
Every product fact in this post comes from each brand’s own website and, for Brita, the performance data sheets those pages link to, read on the date each record shows. Nothing was retrieved from a retailer listing. Filter life, contaminant claims, media descriptions and certifications are quoted from each manufacturer and are the manufacturer’s own; each certification is recorded as a claim, since the certifiers’ directories could not be queried by exact model with the tools available. Runlow has not tested any of these filters and makes no claim about how any of them performs on a particular household’s water. No prices are shown.
Try the Water filter calculator
Frequently asked questions
- Do Brita filters fit PUR pitchers, or the other way around?
- Neither brand's page says so, and each names only its own systems. Brita's data sheets list the Brita pitcher and dispenser models each filter fits, and PUR's pages say its filters fit "PUR and Beautiful by PUR systems." A replacement filter is bought for the pitcher you already own.
- Which Brita and PUR filters claim to reduce lead?
- Two of the four pitcher filters here. Brita's Elite page says it reduces "99% of lead," and its data sheet ties the lead certification to specific Brita pitcher models. PUR's PLUS page says it is "IAPMO R&T certified to reduce lead." Brita's Original page lists "chlorine (taste and odor), copper, cadmium and mercury" and makes no lead claim, and PUR's basic pitcher filter page names no lead claim either. Each statement is the manufacturer's own.
- How often do Brita and PUR say to replace a filter?
- Three of the four say 40 gallons or about two months, which covers Brita's Original and both PUR filters. Brita's Elite says 120 gallons or about six months. Brita adds that hard water "may need to change filters more often." The Water Filter Calculator turns your own household's use into a date.
















