Glad and Hefty make the same two kinds of trash bag, and the differences their own pages state are small and specific. For a 13-gallon kitchen can, both brands sell an 80-count drawstring bag with an odor claim. Glad’s page names the plastic and says how many days the odor control lasts. Hefty’s names the odor neutralizer and states neither of those. For a large can, Hefty’s 33-gallon Ultra Strong states a drawstring and offers a scent-free version, and Glad’s 39-gallon Quick-Tie is unscented with a tie closure in place of a drawstring. Neither brand states a thickness for any of the four bags, and neither names the plastic in its large bag. If a stated material matters to you, Glad’s kitchen bag is the one page that gives it. If a drawstring on a large bag matters, Hefty’s is the one that states it. Nothing here comes from testing. It is what the two companies publish, lined up.

Which kitchen bag states more?

13-gallon kitchen bags, side by side
AttributeGlad ForceFlex MaxStrength Kitchen Drawstring Trash Bags, Fresh AirHefty Ultra Strong Kitchen Drawstring Trash Bags
BrandGladHefty
Parent companyThe Glad Products CompanyReynolds Consumer Products
Formatdrawstring bagdrawstring bag
Size13 gal (80 bags)13 gal (80 bags)
Ingredients disclosedNot publishedNot published
FragranceNot publishedNot published
Certifications claimedNone claimedNone claimed
Odor control"4-day odor control" and "neutralizes trash odors," per manufacturer"Arm & Hammer Continuous Odor Control," a patented odor neutralizer, per manufacturer — the Arm & Hammer trademark is licensed from Church & Dwight Co.
MaterialPolyethylene, per manufacturer; the bag itself is "not recyclable or compostable," per manufacturerNot stated on the brand's page
Source

Sourceglad.comChecked Sep 20, 2026

Sourcehefty.comChecked Sep 20, 2026

Every value is from the manufacturer's own site, read on the date in its column's source row, and is the manufacturer's statement. "Not stated on the brand's page" means the page was read and says nothing about that attribute; "Not published" means it lists no ingredients; "None claimed" means it names no certification; "Not yet checked" means we haven't read it. A certification is the brand's claim unless its record says otherwise.

The two kitchen bags match on everything a reader can count. Both are 13 gallons, both come 80 to a box, both close with a drawstring, and both make an odor claim. Where they part is in what each page chooses to say.

Glad’s page gives two facts Hefty’s doesn’t. It names the material: the bags “are made with polyethylene.” And it puts a duration on the odor claim, “4-day odor control,” alongside “neutralizes trash odors.” Hefty’s page gives one fact Glad’s doesn’t. It names the odor technology, “Arm & Hammer Continuous Odor Control,” a patented neutralizer whose trademark is licensed from Church & Dwight, and it lists a scent-free version beside eight scents. Both pages say the bag itself is not recyclable and not compostable. Neither states a thickness, and neither publishes an ingredient list or names a certification, which the table says in each cell rather than leaving blank.

Our Best Trash Bags for Odor Control guide ranks the kitchen bags on the odor claim alone, and Best Tall Kitchen Trash Bags on the whole 13-gallon field. This page is only the two brands against each other.

Which large bag fits which can?

Large bags, side by side
AttributeGlad Heavy Duty Large Quick-Tie Black Trash Bags, 39 gallonHefty Ultra Strong Large Trash Bags, 33 gallon
BrandGladHefty
Parent companyThe Glad Products CompanyReynolds Consumer Products
Formatbagbag
Size39 gal (39 gallons)33 gal (33 gallons)
Ingredients disclosedNot publishedNot published
FragranceNot publishedNot published
Certifications claimedNone claimedNone claimed
Odor controlUnscented, per manufacturer; the page makes no odor control claim"Arm & Hammer patented odor neutralizer on scented bags," per manufacturer; a "Scent Free" option is listed alongside the scented ones, and the odor neutralizer claim is made only for the scented bags
MaterialThe manufacturer does not name the plastic; it describes the bags as "durable" and for "your toughest yard waste messes," sold in black in 30 and 39 gallon sizesThe manufacturer does not name the plastic; it states the bag "resists leaks, punctures and rips," "resists breaks," and "should not be recycled, not compostable"; sold in black in 30, 33 and 39 gallon sizes
ClosureQuick-Tie, per the product's own name; the manufacturer describes the bags as "easy to tie and carry""Tough drawstring," per manufacturer
Source

Sourceglad.comChecked Oct 4, 2026

Sourcehefty.comChecked Oct 4, 2026

Every value is from the manufacturer's own site, read on the date in its column's source row, and is the manufacturer's statement. "Not stated on the brand's page" means the page was read and says nothing about that attribute; "Not published" means it lists no ingredients; "None claimed" means it names no certification; "Not yet checked" means we haven't read it. A certification is the brand's claim unless its record says otherwise.

The large bags are less alike, starting with the size. Hefty’s Ultra Strong Large is sold in 30, 33 and 39 gallons, and the record here is the 33. Glad’s Heavy Duty Large Quick-Tie is sold in 30 and 39 gallons, and the record here is the 39. Neither page states how many bags come in the box, so each record carries the bag’s capacity as its unit rather than a count the brand didn’t publish.

The closure is the clearest difference. Hefty states a “tough drawstring.” Glad’s bag closes with the quick-tie its name describes, which the page calls “easy to tie and carry.” On scent, Glad’s page says unscented and makes no odor claim at all. Hefty’s lists “Arm & Hammer patented odor neutralizer on scented bags” and a “Scent Free” option next to them, with the odor claim made only for the scented ones. On strength, both pages use words rather than numbers. Hefty’s “resists leaks, punctures and rips.” Glad’s is “durable” and for “your toughest yard waste messes.” Neither names the plastic, and neither states a thickness. Best Heavy-Duty Large Trash Bags puts both of these against two more Hefty bags, one of which does state a thickness.

What neither page says

Three things, and they are the same three on every page here. No thickness, which is the one measurable strength claim a trash bag can make and the subject of What Trash Bag Thickness in Mils Actually Tells You. No plastic named, except on Glad’s kitchen bag. No pack count on the large bags. The tables above say “not stated on the brand’s page” in each of those cells because the page was read and is silent, which is a different thing from a page nobody has read.

Which one, then?

From the pages alone, the choice comes down to which stated fact you want. For a kitchen can, Glad is the one that tells you the plastic and puts a number of days on its odor claim, and Hefty is the one that names its odor technology and offers a scent-free version. For a large can, Hefty is the one with a stated drawstring and a scent-free option, and Glad is the one sold unscented with a tie. Neither brand gives a reader the thickness that would let the two be compared on strength, so a reader who wants that number has to look at a bag that states one, and in Runlow’s records today that is Hefty’s contractor bag, which isn’t a kitchen or yard bag at all.

How we researched this

Every value in both tables comes from the brand’s own page for that bag, read on the date in each column’s source row, and the two kitchen pages were read again on October 6, 2026. Nothing was retrieved from a retailer listing, no review data was used, and Runlow has not tested any of these bags. Odor, closure, material and size statements are quoted from each manufacturer and are the manufacturer’s own. No prices are shown.

Frequently asked questions

Are Glad and Hefty kitchen trash bags the same size?
The two kitchen bags compared here are both 13 gallons and both sold 80 to a box, per their brand pages. In the large sizes the ranges differ. Hefty's Ultra Strong Large page lists 30, 33 and 39 gallons, and Glad's Large Quick-Tie page lists 30 and 39 gallons.
Which is thicker, Glad or Hefty?
Neither brand's page states a thickness for any of the four bags compared here. The only Hefty page in Runlow's records that gives a thickness is its contractor bag, at 2 mil, and no Glad page we have read states one. What a mil measures is in our explainer on trash bag thickness.
Do Glad or Hefty say what their bags are made of?
Glad's ForceFlex kitchen bag page says the bags are made with polyethylene. The other three pages name no plastic. Hefty's pages say the bag should not be recycled and is not compostable, which is a disposal statement rather than a material one, and Glad's kitchen page says the same of its bag.